## Holy Cross Lutheran Church (HCLC)

## Minutes from Congregational Meeting, Part II – March 10, 2024

The March 2024 Congregational Meeting (Part II) was called to order by President Wendy Lambeth on Sunday, March 10, 2024 at 10:33 a.m. Pastor Berggren opened the meeting with a prayer.

It was determined that a quorum was present. Packets including an agenda, committee and ministry reports and minutes from the Congregational Meeting Part I were distributed at the beginning of the meeting. President Lambeth stated that the purpose of this meeting was to elect officers and certain committee members for the coming year, and to vote on changes and additions to the By-Laws. She appointed Barbara Neumann, Stephanie Walton and John Wenger as tellers for the voting results, and ballots were distributed to members of the congregation. She proposed that the minutes from the Congregational Meeting Part I, which were included in the packet, be approved. A motion to approve the minutes was made, seconded and approved by acclamation.

Penny Schick presented the report from the Nominating Committee. She thanked the members of the 2023 Committee and announced the candidates for office for 2024:

Council Officers (1 year term): President: Wendy Lambeth; Treasurer: Ricki Finstad Secretary: Julie Kilkenny

Council Members (2 year term): Jay Byerly, Wayne Schaper, Stephen Schulze, Hans Sunder (1 year term): Leigh Rothharpt

Nominating Committee (1 year term): Linda Cuzzort, Darnell Lucero, Tillie Remmert,

Amy Schomburg

Endowment Committee (2 year term): Nancy Beamesderfer, Pat Boessling, Marilyn Flick, Sharon Wagner

She noted there was an error on the ballots regarding candidates for the Nominating Committee (Sharon Wagner was incorrectly listed as a candidate; it should have been Amy Schomburg). President Lambeth asked if there were any nominations from the floor. There were none, and a motion was made, seconded, and approved to accept the report from the Committee. The ballots were collected by the tellers for counting.

While the votes were being counted, Pastor Berggren took the opportunity to spotlight the work of the Pantry, which served over 50,000 people in the past year. President Lambeth added what a blessing Pantry Director Pam Smelley is. She thanked Tillie Remmert and the Memorial Fund Committee for their work to beautify the HCLC campus. Nancy Beamesderfer noted the "incredible work" done by Alan Lambeth for Buildings and Grounds. Scott Wegner emphasized the importance of resurrecting adult and children's Sunday school classes at Holy Cross. Barbara Neumann presented the election results for 2024:

<u>Church Council Officers</u>: President (1 year term): Wendy Lambeth Secretary (1 year term): Julie Kilkenny Treasurer (1 year term): Ricki Finstad <u>Council Members</u> (2 year term): Jay Byerly, Stephen Schulze, Hans Sunder (1 year term): Leigh Rothharpt [Returning Council members (with 1 year remaining): Warren Schick, Stephanie Walton] <u>Nominating Committee</u> (1 year term): Linda Cuzzort, Darnell Lucero, Tillie Remmert, Amy Schomburg <u>Endowment Committee</u> (2 year term): Pat Boessling, Sharon Wagner [Returning Committee members (with 1 year remaining): Amy Schomburg, Wayne Schaper]

The congregation was asked to vote on a change to the By-Laws regarding Council membership (Section VIII A.2.), as it was not rewritten to include the Treasurer and Secretary. *(See attachment of proposed revision)* A motion was made and seconded to make this change; it was approved by a show of hands.

The congregation was also asked to approve an addition to the By-Laws establishing the structure and procedures of the Memorial Fund Committee [Section IX C14.01 (Various Committees and Funds). *(See attachment of proposed revision)* A motion was made and seconded to add this section (F) to the By-Laws; it was approved by a show of hands.

Upon motion to adjourn, Pastor Berggren led the congregation in the Lord's prayer. The meeting ended at 11:02 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie M. Kilkenny Secretary, Church Council